BriggsAmasco is accredited to a number of schemes under the Safety Schemes in Procurement (SSIP) umbrella.

These include:

  • Safecontractor
  • CHAS (The Contractors Health and Safety Assessment Scheme)
  • SMAS (Safety Management Advisory Services)
  • Constructionline (health & safety element only)

These accreditations began for BriggsAmasco in 1999, with Constructionline. This was followed with Safecontractor, in 2001 (when it was called “Supplyline”) and CHAS in 2004. SMAS is a relatively new accreditation for the company.

Initially, these were all accreditations made independently of each other, requiring duplication of information and, frequently, information to be provided in a different way.

To address this duplication of time, effort and cost, the Government commissioned a report called “Accelerating the SME Economic Engine: Through Transparent, Simple and Strategic Procurement (2008), in a bid to simplify the process of assessment. On the back of this, SSIP was founded in May 2009, which brought together certain elements of individual assessments, but allowed clients to retain their independence in selecting which assessment scheme they preferred.

BriggsAmasco now uses Safecontractor as its principal assessment, which then “deems to satisfy” the criteria of CHAS, SMAS and the health & safety element of Constructionline, although each accreditation still requires some additional or confirmation information.

Janice Tyler, BriggsAmasco’s Environment and Supply Chain Manager, facilitates these assessments. “These accreditations give our clients confidence in our commitment to health & safety and in our compliance with both legal requirements and our own good practices.”

Further information can be found on our Accreditations page.